MINUTES OF MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF McLENNAN COUNTY JUNIOR COLLEGE DISTRICT

THE STATE OF TEXAS THE COUNTY OF McLENNAN

McLENNAN COUNTY JUNIOR COLLEGE DISTRICT

The Board of Trustees of McLennan Community College met for a Regular Meeting at the MCC Conference Center on the McLennan Community College Campus on Tuesday, August 13, 2024, at 6:00 p.m. Those regular attending people who were present at the Board Meeting were: Dr. Amy Antoninka, President, Faculty Council; Mr. Edgar Barragan, Media Technology Specialist, Information Systems & Services; Mr. Terry Clendennen, PC Specialist, Information Systems & Services; Dr. Chad Eggleston, Vice President, Instruction and Student Engagement; Dr. Christi Esquivel, Division Chair, Business Programs; Mr. Mark Harmsen, Vice President, Finance and Administration; Dr. Fred Hills, Vice President, Instruction & Student Engagement; Ms. Heather Holt, Chair, Administrative Staff Advisory Committee; Mr. Carl Hoover, Waco Trib; Ms. Missy Kittner, Chief Human Resources Officer; Mr. Mario Leal, Chief Information and Technology Officer; Mr. Wes Livesay, Executive Director, MCC Foundation; Dr. Johnette McKown, President; Mr. Grayson Meek, Comptroller; Ms. Sipriana Molina, Vice Chair, Support Staff Advisory Committee; Ms. Kelli Nehring, Vice Chair, Administrative Staff Advisory Committee; Mr. Frank Patterson, Director, Emergency Management and Risk Management; Ms. April Robinson, Director, Financial Services; Mr. Peter Rusek, College Attorney; Mr. Paul Serrano, Chair, Support Staff Advisory Committee; Ms. Shawn Trochim, Director, Athletics; Ms. Paula Unger, Professor, Sociology; Dr. Laura Wichman, Vice President, Strategic Planning and Enrollment; Mr. Clayton Williams, Chief, Campus Police; Dr. Kayla Willis, Vice President, Faculty Council; and members of the Board of Trustees as follows:

> Dr. Dennis Clark Mr. Jonathan Hill Mr. K. Paul Holt Mr. Earl Stinnett, Sr., Chairman (ZOOM) Mr. Ricky Turman, Vice-Chair Dr. Elizabeth Palacios, Secretary

Absent: Ms. Ilda Sabido

Mr. Ricky Turman, Vice-Chairman of the Board, called the Regular Meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Dr. Johnette McKown introduced the guests present at the regular meeting.

Dr. Dennis Clark spoke about his recent experience at the ACCT Governance Leadership Institute: Fundamentals of Government conference. (D.F. V—752)

Dr. Laura Wichman presented the Data Moment about the enrollment. (D.F. V-753)

Dr. McKown presented the following Consent Agenda Items for Board approval (D.F. V-754):

- 1) Consideration of and Approval of Minutes of the June 25, 2024 Board Meeting
- 2) Consideration of and Approval of Category II Tenured Faculty Contracts
- 3) Consideration of and Approval of Category III Administrative and Non-Faculty Contracts
- 4) Consideration of and Approval of Safety and Security Audit
- 5) Consideration of and Approval of the Emergency Management Plan
- 6) Consideration of and Approval of Correction to the Core Curriculum Submission
- 7) Consideration of and Approval of Purchase of Phones in Every Classroom
- 8) Consideration of and Approval of Athletic Streaming Services
- 9) Consideration of and Approval of CSC Module B Cosmetology, Phase 3 Construction
- 10) Consideration of and Approval of Campus Stand-Alone Building Signage
- 11) Consideration of and Approval of Auditing Services
- 12) Consideration of and Approval of Slate Contract Renewal
- 13) Consideration of and Approval of Zoom Renewal
- 14) Consideration of and Approval of Revisions to the Authority to Conduct Business with Depository Bank Policy (Policy D-VI)
- 15) Consideration of and Approval of Motimatic Contract
- 16) Consideration of and Approval of Purchase from Bane Paper
- 17) Consideration of and Approval of Purchase from Office Depot
- 18) Consideration of and Approval of Purchase from Amazon
- 19) Consideration of and Approval of Purchase from Elzevier
- 20) Appointment of Personnel
 - Assistant Program Director, Alternative Teacher Certification
 - Assistant Professor, Associate Degree Nursing (Tenure Eligible)
 - Assistant Professor, Vocational Nursing (Tenure Eligible)
 - Veteran Specialist
 - Advising Specialist (Two Positions)
 - Integrated Education and Training Specialist

Mr. Hill moved to approve the Consent Agenda Items as presented. Dr. Palacios seconded the motion, and it carried unanimously.

Mr. Mark Harmsen presented the financial report for June 2024. (D.F. V-755)

Mr. Holt moved to approve the financial report for June 2024 as presented. Mr. Hill seconded the motion, and it carried unanimously.

Dr. Laura Wichman presented the Annual Priorities for 2024-2025. (D.F. V-756)

Mr. Hill moved to approve the Annual Priorities for 2024-2025 as presented. Dr. Palacios seconded the motion, and it carried unanimously.

Mr. Harmsen presented the proposed 2024-2025 General Fund and Capital Improvement Fund Budgets and the Board had a discussion. (D.F. V—757)

Mr. Harmsen presented a resolution declaring intent to raise McLennan County Junior College District property taxes for the 2025 tax year to an amount in excess of the 2024 tax levy, calling, and setting the date of the public hearing to receive comments on the proposed increase and direct the publication of the notice of the public hearing as required by law. (D.F. V—758)

Mr. Hill moved to approve a resolution declaring intent to raise McLennan County Junior College District property taxes for the 2025 tax year to an amount in excess of the 2024 tax levy. Mr. Stinnett seconded the motion. The motion carried as follows:

| For: | Jonathan Hill |
|----------|--------------------|
| | Earl Stinnett |
| | Elizabeth Palacios |
| | Dennis Clark |
| | Ricky Turman |
| Against: | K. Paul Holt |
| Absent: | Ilda Sabido |

Dr. McKown introduced the four various groups represented at the Board Meeting, and each leader gave a quick update on their area.

Under the President's Report, Dr. McKown reported:

- The EMS graduation will be held on Wednesday, August 14, 2024, at 7:00 p.m.
- The Respiratory Technology pinning will be held at 6:00 p.m. and the Radiologic Tech pinning will be held at 7:00 p.m., both on Friday, August 16, 2024.
- Summer Commencement will be held on Tuesday, August 20, 2024, at 7:30 p.m. The keynote speaker will be Professor Paula Unger.
- The LVN pinning will be held on Friday, August 23, 2024, at 6:30 p.m.
- The first day of Fall classes is Monday, August 26, 2024.
- The August Board Meeting is scheduled for August 27, 2024, as well as the Public Hearing, which will begin at 6:00 p.m.
- At the September Board Meeting on Tuesday, September 24, 2024, the Board will take pictures.
- On Tuesday, September 10, 2024, Dr. Benson will be inaugurated as the next president of Paris Junior College.
- Paul Illich has completed ten years as president at his college.
- Dr. McKown gave an update on refunding the bonds.

Under Other Business, the next Board Meeting will be held on Tuesday, August 27, 2024, at the MCC Conference Center.

The Board took a break at 7:30 p.m.

Mr. Turman called the Closed Session to order at 7:40 p.m.

Mr. Turman adjourned the Closed Session at 8:15 p.m., stating that no action had taken place.

With no further business, the regular meeting was adjourned at 8:16 p.m.

Lindsey Vanek Assistant Secretary, Board of Trustees